History 2017-05-07T15:17:58+00:00

Our History

A.T.A., founded in 1979, is a non-profit organization created to promote better understanding and friendship between the peoples of the United States and Turkey through social, educational, cultural and charitable activities. It also aims to provide assistance to Turkish citizens living in Houston.

ATA-Houston contributes to the society by organizing, sponsoring and hosting cultural and social events such as Turkish classes, seminars, picnics, music nights, concerts, and many other activities, which help build a bridge between the two cultures. Among the year-round activities organized by ATA-Houston, Turkish Festival is the biggest and most influential event.

The first Turkish Festival in Houston was held in the year 1991, which was a first in the United States and has become a tradition since then. ATA-Houston has been able to expand and enrich its festivals every year in terms of the number and scope of its activities (musical and dance performances, arts and crafts displays and workshops, children’s activities, vendors, presentations, and food selection) and number of attendees it attracted. Houstonians are a wonderful mix and there is great interest in exploring different cultures.

As a non-profit organization, ATA-Houston relies on donations and gifts to have the financial capability to carry out its activities throughout the year. As in the previous years, a festival committee has already been formed and is meeting regularly to make this year’s festival even bigger and better than before.

ATA-Houston is relying on your support in presenting this event as a contribution to the diversity of the Houstonian culture. Please click here to contribute.

ATA-Legacy

Ozlem Direk

Ozlem Direk
(2015 - present)
president@atahouston.org

Ebru Erdini
(2014 - 2015)
ebru@atahouston.org

Jason Williams

Jason Williams
(2013 - 2014)
jason@atahouston.org

Deniz Demirors
(2011 - 2013)
deniz@atahouston.org

Gurcan Gulen

Gurcan Gulen
(2009 - 2011)
gurcan@atahouston.org

Esen Erdemir
(2008 - 2009)
esen@atahouston.org

Oguz Orhon
(2007 - 2008)
oguz@atahouston.org

Sukran Atadeniz

Sukran Kadipasaoglu (2006 - 2007)
sukran@atahouston.org

Tanju Obut
(2004 - 2006)
tanju@atahouston.org

Serhan Secmen
(2002 - 2004)
serhan@atahouston.org

Coskun Caglar

Coskun Caglar
(1999 - 2002)
coskun@atahouston.org

Erhan Uskup

Erhan Uskup
(1995 - 1999)
erhan@atahouston.org

Randy Burdett
(1990 - 1995)
randy@atahouston.org

Demir Karsan
(1989 - 1990)
demir@atahouston.org

Yildirim Bayazitoglu

Yildirim Beyazitoglu
(1987 - 1989)
yildirim@atahouston.org

Yener Olmez
(1986 - 1987)
yener@atahouston.org

Altan Erdil
(1985 - 1986)
altan@atahouston.org

Ahmet Gumuser
(1984 - 1985)
ahmet@atahouston.org

Velit Seyfettin
(1983 - 1984)
velit@atahouston.org

Kemal Gungor Dundar
(1981 - 1983)
kemal@atahouston.org

Ilhan Tezel
(1980 - 1981)
ilhan@atahouston.org